DON’T SHOOT THE BLOGGER.

guns_controll_1916715

I was down in LA last weekend.

When I was a kid, I used to think of LA as an amazing, sparkly castle-land where all the beautiful famous people lived. I used to draw stars on printer paper and line them up on the floor in my room and pretend I was on Hollywood Blvd.

The first time I actually went to Hollywood Blvd (albeit, a really ugly part of Hollywood Blvd), I thought… “Hm. I could get shot here.”

My view had been tainted because my world had been tainted.

When I was a kid, I wasn’t afraid of guns because I never saw a gun. Or really heard about guns. Cops and bad guys on TV had guns. I had no idea that my neighbors could own guns if they wanted to.

Now, I can’t go a week without hearing about gun violence.

Someone always sparks the gun debate with,

“BUT IT’S MY 2ND AMENDMENT RIGHT!”

Or

“YEAH, JUST GO AHEAD AND REWRITE THE CONSTITUTION THAT OUR COUNTRY WAS FOUNDED ON!”

*pause for eye-roll*

Is anyone in 2015 still buying a manually-loaded, single-shot musket? …Anyone? …No?

Then maybe we could use an update to our country’s “rules.” Just sayin’.

I had a conversation with someone once, who said, “If the gun laws change then it’s only going to affect law-abiding citizens. Criminals will find a way to get guns, because they’re criminals. And then good people who bought their guns legally, won’t have any way to protect themselves.”

OK. I can get behind that logic. You can’t STOP people from doing something illegal.

Kind of like how cocaine is illegal, but people still do cocaine.

Right…

BUT! If cocaine WAS legal, then that means that more people could just bust it out at a party like it was no big deal. So, more people would probably try it. ‘Cause more people could get it.

And things would probably be fine for a while.

But then, someone would take advantage of the system.

Someone would bring their cocaine to work…or school…or the movie theater.

And people would probably be like, “Ok this is getting out of hand. You can’t just whip out your cocaine in public places and start doing lines off of people. That’s not cool.”

And then some rules would probably change, because the world seemed totally fucking crazy.

And it is.

What’s the worst thing that could happen if we change the gun laws? A law-abiding citizen gets shot because they didn’t have a gun to protect themselves against a crazy person’s gun?

Sooo, basically the same exact thing that’s happening now.

We literally can’t get any worse at this point.

I’m not trying to take anyone’s “constitutional rights” away. I’m just looking forward to the day when we can go to school or work, or any other cool place we imagined, without having to worry about getting shot just for being there.

